South Africa // Limpopo //

Name changes in Limpopo


What was once known as South Africa’s Northern Province was renamed Limpopo in 2002, and the capital, Pietersburg, was subsequently renamed Polokwane. A number of other towns with “colonial” names have also undergone official name changes, though some of these changes have been taken to court for various political and procedural reasons. Examples of these that you are bound to come across while travelling in the province include:

Read More

Explore South Africa



Travel Offers

20% off ebooks

Subscribe to the Rough Guides newsletter and get 20% off any ebook.

Join over 50,000 subscribers and get travel tips, competitions and more every month.