Cyprus // Getting there //

The north/south divide and the “TRNC”


After its occupation by the Turkish army, the north declared itself to be the “Turkish Federated State of Cyprus” before unilaterally declaring independence in 1983 as the “Turkish Republic of North Cyprus”. This title has no international validity, and is strongly resented by the Republic of Cyprus, the only legitimate government of the whole island. For ease of reference we have largely referred to the TRNC as “the north” and the rest of the island, that controlled by the republic government, as “the south”. Where the title TRNC is used it is for convenience, and implies no endorsement of the Turkish occupation.

Read More