Vaccinations?

Hi, what vaccinations are necessary for round the world travel? It is really confusing! Thanks!

peterdraper 16/04/13    Travel health and safety Link Report

Processing your request, Please wait....

8 Replies Date Popularity

I use a site like this as a good start – http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/ – Following this, a trip to a trusted physician. And then price comparisons at travel clinics and your doctor.

But money will never be more important than your health.

PirateAt50 16/04/13    Link Report

• It depends on which country you are visiting really, but Pirate is right, the CDC website or even the world health organisation (WHO) websites are good places to start for up to date lists and epedemic information.

Just to let you know I am a qualified staff nurse, so I hope my advice will be of some use to you.

Basically there are three types of vaccination.

Routine vaccinations.

These are the ones everyone should already have. These routine vaccinations include the BCG, hepatitis B, polio, DTP (diptheria, tetanus and pertusis), heamophilus influenzae type b, pneumococcal conjugate, rotavirus, rubella and measles. Human papillomavirus (HPV) is recommended for girls to prevent cervical precancers and cancers. When giving advice on recommended vaccinations, it may be assumed that you will already have these routine vaccinations and are up to date on any boosters. They are available on the NHS in the UK, so if you do not have them for whatever reason or if you had them more than 10 years ago and may need a booster, go and get them regardless of where you are going. Check with your GP or practice nurse who will have access to your notes.

Recommended travel vaccinations.